Welcome to the Neighborwood

Free Read Welcome to the Neighborwood - by Shawn Sheehy - Welcome to the Neighborwood, Welcome to the Neighborwood In this stunning pop up book meet seven animal builders and see how their unique skills help them survive and to live together in harmony in the neighborwood At the edge of the forest a spider spins Free Read Welcome to the Neighborwood - by Shawn Sheehy - Welcome to the Neighborwood, Welcome to the Neighborwood In this stunning pop up book meet seven animal builders and see how their unique skills help them survive and to live together in harmony in the neighborwood At the edge of the forest a spider spins

  • Title: Welcome to the Neighborwood
  • Author: Shawn Sheehy
  • ISBN: 9780763665944
  • Page: 407
  • Format: Hardcover
Welcome to the Neighborwood

Free Read Welcome to the Neighborwood - by Shawn Sheehy, Welcome to the Neighborwood, Shawn Sheehy, Welcome to the Neighborwood In this stunning pop up book meet seven animal builders and see how their unique skills help them survive and to live together in harmony in the neighborwood At the edge of the forest a spider spins her web while nearby a hummingbird uses strands of spider silk to build her nest These are just two of the many animals who live side by side sharing the resources they Free Read Welcome to the Neighborwood - by Shawn Sheehy - Welcome to the Neighborwood, Welcome to the Neighborwood In this stunning pop up book meet seven animal builders and see how their unique skills help them survive and to live together in harmony in the neighborwood At the edge of the forest a spider spins

  • Free Read Welcome to the Neighborwood - by Shawn Sheehy
    407 Shawn Sheehy
Welcome to the Neighborwood

About “Shawn Sheehy

  • Shawn Sheehy

    Shawn Sheehy is an artist with a love of ecology who enjoys exploring such themes as interconnectedness, adaptability, and evolution Passionate about pop up books, he works sculpturally with the book format and has presented numerous workshops on pop up engineering across the country He lives in Chicago.



459 thoughts on “Welcome to the Neighborwood

  • A book about seven animal builders, who often borrow from one another, in building their nests or homes hence neighborwood For example, the hummingbird uses sticky spider webs to weave fibers in her nest together Perfect for a stem wonderworks storytime on building, animals homes habitats.


  • With pop ups to rival Sabuda, this is sure to be an attention grabber, and the nonfiction angle is a fun one as well animal homes all from one neighborhood and how they are built and interconnected Hummingbird builds a nest with Spider s webs, Spider eats Honeybee, etc.



  • Title italicize Welcome to the NeighborwoodAuthor Illustrator Shawn Sheehy Genre Toy Book, Pop up Book, Picture Book, Nonfiction Theme s Nature, Insects, Animals, Habitats, Building, Ecosystems Opening line sentence type directly from text The animals of the forest live as neighbors, each finding its own way to survive Many of these animals survive best by building building homes, traps to catch food, or structures to alter the world in useful ways Brief Book Summary 2 3 sentences in your own wo [...]


  • We love the pop up art of this book It is super amazing and you can actually turn the book a bit to appreciate the 3D art



  • One of the coolest pop up books I ve ever seen Happily, the text was informative and held it s weight just as much the illustrations.


  • What a beautiful pop up book I read this to my 1st graders yesterday and they kept asking me if I was the one who created the pop ups and I told them that I only wished that I was creative like that This has just enough information on the animals in the book to satisfy the younger one s curiosity and give them a little background information on the animal.I highly recommend this book


  • This pop up book begins by talking about animals being neighbors, then moves on with each page talking about a different animal and a quick summary of how this animal lives Then the last page talks about how these animal work together without even realizing it and how that is a good thing The pop ups in this book are really something else, they are really fun to look at and have good detail The only thing in the book that made me stop for a second was on the page about the honeybees, generalizin [...]


  • Sheehy, S 2015 Welcome to the neighborwood Somerville, MA Candle Wick Press, Incorporated This book would make a good resource for a 1st grade unit about animals and their habitats, which comprises a large portion of the 1st grade science curriculum for Lincoln Public Schools The book is designed for primary age students and would make a good read aloud Teachers could use it to talk about different animals and their habitats within the same ecosystem Since it s full of pop ups and flaps, childre [...]


  • The pop up art is, as noted in the description, stunning I know that as a child the pop ups would have captured my imagination and I would have loved to look at them over and over except for maybe the bugs There were too many, in my opinion I wasn t a fan of seeing a giant spider, bumble bee, and wasp popping out at me in accurate detail but larger than life size However, the pop ups are very fragile because they are so detailed, but the book seems to be for very young readers If you care at all [...]


  • This entertaining pop up book describes an array of creatures who build their homes in the forest Each pop up shows the home of a different creature and the text not only explains how that home was built, but also mentions how that creature interacts with others All the pop ups and artwork within the book were constructed using handmade papers I would use this book in a unit on animal habitats It would also be a good book to explain how organisms within an environment interact with one another.


  • Wow These pop up illustrations are incredible I found myself smiling in amazement and delight as I opened each page Sheehy teaches us about animals that survive by building homes, traps, or structures for their survival The book also shows how these animals need each other nature is so fascinating Great facts and word play accompany the beautiful artwork would make a great addition to the classroom library and or a gift I can imagine that any child would want to open this book again and again I [...]


  • Wow This book pops it is exciting If you like to build and nature, then this book is for you Kids will like everything about this book, especially the pictures I like the part about the beaver best Boys will love the spider Girls will like this book too even though there is no pink, there is lavender The ending is excellent It is like no other book I knowReviewed by Henry L age 5, North Texas Mensa


  • Let s meet seven neighborwood builders Land Snail The Mobile HomeHummingbird A Master of CraftsbirdshipGarden Spider The Loom of DoomHoneybee Home Sweet HomePotter Wasp A Nest A Lunch Box Both Beaver More Than a Home a HabitatSickleback The Underwater ArchitectSuch a clever take on animals who build their homes


  • Stunning pop up book Interesting information But I worry that there is a disconnect with the age appeal the information seems best suited to 4 and 5 year olds, but the pop ups are intricate and fragile Curious what friends think about this.


  • This pop up looks at seven different creatures who are considered builders It shows what they build, how they build them, to what purpose, etc Then there s the way the author manages to bring them all together to help build a sense of community, inter connectivity.


  • An informational pop up book that explains how each creature builds its habitat and how it relates to the other creatures leaving nearby.Fans of Robin Page and Steve Jenkins books will enjoy this one Recommended for readers grades PreK 3.


  • Pop up book Teaches about separate animals and then makes connections between them living in the same environment.


  • Beautiful The pop up art and paper patterns used are simply beautiful My two boys loved exploring the pop up elements, and the collection of animals featured here was very interesting.


  • This lovely pop up book features just enough information about 7 creatures to spark interest Also makes connections among them Would support curriculum in many ways K 3.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *